What I try to eat with every meal…..

Wine!  Just kidding, you can’t eat wine.  It’s actually PROTEIN!

If you know me at all then you already know that I’m a lil’ Richard Simmon’s-esque in that I’m always asking friends to workout with me and I always remind people they should squeeze more protein in into their meals and snacks (probbbb annoying, huh?  :))  But protein = feelin’ full so it’s worth the effort trying to include it with your meals.

Why eat regular yogurt when you can have protein packed greek yogurt?  Or eat boring white toast with jam when you could have whole wheat toast with almond butter and feel full for hours?  I add a scoop of almond butter (which is loaded with protein) to my oatmeal, smoothies, waffles, bananas, apples, celery, etc.  I also carry a protein bar in my purse at all times for whenever my hunger cravings strike.  Gotta be prepared!

So how do I get my protein at each meal?  Here’s a glimpse into what I ate today.  Mind you, I also tried really really hard to eat healthier options today since I wasn’t working out and because I woke up feeling bloated/frumpy.

Breakfast: I prepared this delicious smoothie around 8:30 this morning and was full right up until lunch time. 

Jackie Warner’s Pre-Workout Protein Shake <— She’s amazzzinggg!

(from Fitness Magazine)

  • 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 1 tablespoon  almond butter
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup dry oats
  • 3/4 cup water

In the article Jackie Warner said you should enjoy this drink on the way to the gym but you obviously can have it whenever.

Lunch: fresh strawberries, 2 hard-boiled eggs and raspberry flavored greek yogurt.  Super easy and super filling.

Dinner: Salad with chopped cucumbers, tomatoes, corn, avocado, grilled chicken, and my favorite home-made honey mustard dressing.

I also snacked on a ton of carrots and humus right before dinner. 

Dessert: It wasn’t intentional but even my dessert had 3 grams of protein for every 4 pieces.  Guess that means it’s OK to eat 8 pieces.

_ _ _ _ _

Do you pay attention to protein? 

What’s your favorite way to get more protein? 

-Mike loves snacking on almonds and I obvi love almond butter and adding protein powder to my smoothies

Leave a Reply

