Paleo Chicken Avocado Salad

Guess what arrived in the mail yesterday?  My new Garmin 405 watch!!  I’ve wanted one for years but couldn’t justify spending $200-$300 on a running watch!?!  I recently made a deal with myself (I’m so cool, I know ;)) that I can purchase the watch once I sign up for another half marathon and am ready to really train for the race.  Well folks, I’m running the Hartford Half Marathon on Saturday, October 13th.

Workout

I was up at 5 this morning and jogged over to the gym for a full body circuit workout.  It was one of those mornings when I just couldn’t get into the workout and forced myself to stick it out.  But it left me feeling more energized and ready to tackle my busy day!

Exercise Weights Reps Sets
Treadmill 1 mile run
Mountain climbers Bodyweight 25 3
Single-arm dumbbell raise 7.5 lbs. 15 3
Push-ups (girl kind) Bodyweight 15 3
Seated dumbbell bicep curl 10 lbs. 15 3
Squats 15 lbs. 15 3
Tricep dips Bodyweight 15 3
Butt kicks Bodyweight 15 3
Plank pose <– skipped Bodyweight 60 seconds 3
Treadmill 1-2 mile run

Breakfast

First thing on my to-do-list was to make a Peanut Butter Cup Smoothie the second I got home.  I was dreaming about the cold, tasty smoothie the entire time at the gym.  Into the blender went:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter
  • 1 chopped banana
  • 3 ice cubes

 Dinner

Dinner last night was Paleo Chicken Avocado Salad (from fastpaleo.com).  I prepared this dinner a couple of months ago and loved everything about it so it’s about time I made it again.

Ingredients

  • 4 cooked chicken breast
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • Couple stalks of celery
  • 1/2 cup craisins
  • 1/4 cup avocado oil
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

1) Dice chicken breast, avocados, and celery into tiny pieces.

2) Combine the following ingredients in a large bowl: diced chicken breast, avocados, celery, craisins, avocado oil, lemon juice, and a dash of salt and pepper.

3) Stir until blended but still leave some good chunks of avocado.

4) Eat immediately on a salad, plain, or in a lettuce wrap, or allow the salad to sit overnight for a better depth of flavor.

The salad was delicious but it would have tasted even better if I used soft, ripe avocados instead of hard avocados.  I learned my lesson: it’s better to wait for the avocado to fully ripen to really enjoy it 🙂

Time to finish up my errands before work…   See ya!

4 thoughts on “Paleo Chicken Avocado Salad

  1. Wow – you’re running a 1/2 marathon on what would have been Papa’s 100th Birthday – sounds good to me – Babs

  2. Pingback: Summer of Salads « Avocado Run

Leave a Reply

