Shrimp Rolls

I woke up this morning and wasn’t in the mood to run.  But since I’m training for a half marathon I figured I should try to stick to my training program and at least get my butt out the door.  I knew that once I started my run, I’d end up feeling much better (sometimes the hardest part is just getting out the door.)  I also switched up my typical route and ran along the beach towards Dorchester.  Such a pretty view! 🙂  

About 35 minutes into my run my hip started to really hurt so I ended up walking the last 5 minutes.  I feel so much better now that my workout is over with and I can relax for the rest of the day.  Run and done!

Dinner

Last night’s dinner was an oldie but goodie in the Totten/Doyle house.  We both wanted seafood for dinner so Mike whipped up a couple of insanely delicious shrimp rolls.  I think this meal is actually better than lobster rolls and it’s so easy to make!    

Shrimp Rolls

Makes 4 servings / prep time is 5 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 lb cooked, peeled shrimp
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 2 tablespoons light mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons scallions, diced
  • 1 teaspoon Frank’s hot sauce
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 hot dog buns

We combined all the ingredients in a medium size bowl.  Then scooped the mixture into toasted hot dog buns and chowed down.  That’s it – so easy!  We also enjoyed a couple of Corona Lights with the meal…. 😀  It’s a perfect summer time dinner.

Mmmm mmmmm!  I ended up eating 2 of these since hot dog rolls are pretty small….

Workouts For The Week (adapted from my half marathon training plan)

  • Monday: run 40 minutes <— Done
  • Tuesday: cross train (elliptical plus strength training)
  • Wednesday: run + speed for 50 minutes (might do repeat 200’s & 400’s?)
  • Thursday: cross train for 50 minutes
  • Friday: off
  • Saturday: run – endurance 6 miles
  • Sunday: off

Leave a Reply

