Summer of Salads

Hi friends!

I woke up at 5, changed into workout clothes, and jogged over to the gym.  I started with 15 minutes on the elliptical and then completed the following circuit workout:

No Weights Circuit Workout:

  • 15 push-ups
  • 20 jump squats <— yikes, these are killer!
  • 25 mountain climbers
  • 60 second plank
  • 60 second invisible jump rope
  • 60 second wall sit

**Repeat the circuit 2-3 times

Salads, Salads, Salads

I’m not a huge salad eater but for some reason Mike and I have been making them more often than usual this summer.  I present to you a list of my My Top (and my only) 5 Salads:

1) My all time favorite salad! (courtesy of Barb Totten): California Avocado Chicken Salad

The picture does not do it justice…  this salad is awesome!!

2) A chicken salad that uses avocado instead of mayo is always a winner in my book: Paleo Chicken Avocado Salad

3) Pistachio-crusted goat cheese?  Ahhhhhmazing: Pistachio-Crusted Goat Cheese With Salmon Salad

4) An oldie but goodieCobb Salad With Chicken

5) And last nights dinner will be called the “Summertime Salad w/ Shrimp”.  In the mix: lettuce, a hard-boiled egg, cherry tomatoes, carrots, crumbled feta cheese, and grilled mushrooms and shrimp. 

I topped it with organic ranch dressing (not the healthiest dressing but it’s organic so it can’t be that bad, right? ;))

So friggen good!  I used to just throw everything on the salad but I’ve noticed that placing the toppings into sections makes it look so much better. 😀

QUESTION: What’s your favorite salad?  Favorite dressing? 

Leave a Reply

