Running In The Dark

Good morning!

I woke up bright n’ early today to squeeze in a quick run before I had to start my busy day.  I planned on doing a speed workout today but didn’t want to run loops around the track; so I jogged half a mile then raced half a mile and repeated for 4.5 miles. 

I was up and at it way before the sun! I’m not a big fan of running in the dark simply because I live in a city and I never know what can happen (and I did Grand Jury Duty for 4 months so I KNOW stuff happens).  But I try to play it safe as much as I can: I run on main roads with lights, keep my music turned down so I can hear everything around me (or run without music), and I try to stay more focused than I do on other runs.  Do you guys run in the dark??  Do you get nervous/scared? 

Breakfast

I quickly showered after my run and took off for work where I had a peach Chobani yogurt with home-made peanut butter granola, a granny smith apple, water and coffee.

For snacks later today, I’ll have a pumpkin muffin (thanks Jacki!) and a banana. 

I’m going to try to eat extra healthy today since I’m going out for happy hour after work and I usually don’t pick the healthiest options…    chicken fingers and fries are just too good to pass up!  🙂

Dinner

Dinner last night was a delicious and easy salad with steak tips, a hard-boiled egg, sliced cucumber, tomatoes, and crumbled feta cheese.  Mmmmmmm!   

Alright time for work.  Enjoy your day!

P.S. I have a new camera!!  So the pic’s on this blog will hopefully be better than my previous iPhone pic’s.  I’ll be in Germany and Austria next week so I’ll get a lot of use from this camera. 😀

5 thoughts on “Running In The Dark

  1. Love the new camera! Cant wait to see some pics!

    Also I am nervous for you running in the dark! Please be safe! That is scary!!

    Have a great day! 🙂

  2. I couldn’t run in the dark, esp where you are running. Way too nervous. And I think just having earphones in your ears (even if turned down) makes you more of a target because it gives the impression you’re not paying attention even if you are. That said, I used to run in the dark in the evenings in Portland when we first moved here…

    why does that salad look delicious to me at 8:30 am?

Leave a Reply

