No Time To Cook? No Worries

I feel like I’m slacking a little in the blog world.

When I first started this blog, I had intentions of talking about running and training but I also wanted to discuss cooking exciting, healthy meals and exchange some fun baking recipes.  But between working-out, working, commuting, and having somewhat of a life, I just don’t have the time to do as much cooking/baking as I’d like.  

(Birthday celebrations always come before spending time cooking in the kitchen…… )

Birthday girl!

And me

Very serious ladies…  analyzing the drink menu.

I’m still going to cook/bake as often as I can but in the meantime I’ll show you how you can still eat healthy dinners even on super busy work days.  There’s no need to eat crap and take-out (except every once in a while) when you can easily prepare a healthy and easy dinner in less than 20 minutes. 😀 

Here’s my short list of foods you should always have on hand:

FIRST, STOCK the freezer.  We usually have the following items in our freezer:

  • Bags of vegetables (Lots and lots.  We buy whatever frozen veggie is on sale)

  • Fish (wild alaskan salmon filets and/or burgers)

  • Meats (hot dogs, steak, sausage)
  • Chicken
  • Shrimp
  • Veggies burgers

  • Sweet potato fries

  • Frozen dinners (Healthy Choice, Lean Cuisine, Amy’s Kitchen, Organic Bistro, etc.)  Try to buy meals that are: low in calories and fat, have a lot of protein, at least 3 grams of fiber, and  not more than 600 milligrams of sodium.

(Frozen Healthy Choice dinner with steamed broccoli and goat cheese.  Delicious!  And so simple!)

  • “Healthy” frozen pizzas.  They can be healthier/lower in calories/tastier than take-out pizza if you get the right one.  One of my favorites is American Flatbread.  Add some veggies and you’ve got a meal!
     

SECOND, always keep healthy staples in the pantry:

  • Whole-wheat pasta (penne, spaghetti, ziti, even Annie’s whole wheat mac & cheese)
  • Brown rice
  • Quinoa
  • Low-fat, low-sodium soups
  • Extra virgin olive oil (and any other healthy oil)

  • Sauces (tomato, soy, sweet & sour, etc.)
  • An assortment of seasonings 

And that’s it!  Not a very extensive list, but it gets the job done! 

On any given night, Mike and I can whip up a healthy dinner without going to the grocery store.  Often times, it’s a stir fry with chicken, veggies, and pasta but we switch it up with different seasonings, oils, and sauces. 🙂

What’s always in your freezer??  Pantry?

4 thoughts on “No Time To Cook? No Worries

  1. Lots of thoughts…this makes me want to stock my freezer! Those are awesome ideas, loved this post. That pizza looks amazinggg!! I wish I liked salmon, frozen or burgers, and that glass of wine is looking MIGHTY fine right now….TGIF. =]

  2. I like that you are willing to (and do) use frozen bits here and there! I firmly believe that you can’t be ready ALL the time and fully stocked with fresh everything. Half the time (for me, at least), the volume I’ve bought is too much, and some spoils before it gets used. Great ideas for staples to have, thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

