What’s On My Plate? And A Guide To Fruits/Veggies!

When I realized the other day that I’ve packed on 6 lbs from my last 2 work trips to Germany, I’ve been making an effort to eat healthier.  And I know 6 lbs isn’t anything crazy but I’ve been eating more processed crap than usual and I’ve been feeling bloated and sluggish.  So in order to switch it up, the last couple days have been full of fruits, veggies, Green Monstah Smoothies, protein bars, and oatmeal.  It’s actually not hard for me to eat healthy as long as I 1) plan all my meals/snacks ahead 2) have the ingredients/healthy, fresh foods on hand and 3) don’t give into my afternoon sweet tooth.

Here’s a glimse into what I ate today:

Breakfast: A bowl of pumpkin oatmeal, glass of water, and 2 cups of home-made Dunkin’s cinnamon spice coffee w/ almond milk

Snack: 1 medium apple and a glass of water (1 serving of fruit)

Lunch: Green Monstah Smoothie and a glass of water.  This meal might look light but it filled me up for hours!  And it contained 3 servings of fruits/veggies (1 med banana, 7 strawberries, & 2 cups spinach).

Snack: Larabar and a glass of water. (larabar = 1/4 servings of fruit)

Dinner: OK, so I know it wasn’t the “all time healthiest” option for dinner but it was fairly healthy.  Plus, I’m all about everything in moderation!  I reheated a mini portion of leftover lasagna and prepared a big portion of roasted broccoli with 1 pepper jack cheese stick, and crushed almonds.  And another glass of water. 😀 (The broccoli was probably 1 1/2 servings of veggies)

And that’s my day!  Real exciting, huh?!? 😉  Today was also an off day from the gym/running so I didn’t have to fight any crazy hunger pains at any point…..   

Fruits and Veggies!

I also tried to incorporate more fruits and veggies into my meal plan today.  You should eat roughly 4-5 servings a day (which I almost never do) so today I made a conscious effort to eat more of them.  Here’s a super helpful guide on serving sizes that I found on www.chow.com

Vegetable Servings That Equal a Cup (1 serving)

asparagusAsparagus: About 4 spears

black beansBeans, Cooked (black, garbanzo, etc.): 1 cup

red bell pepperBell Pepper: 1 cup chopped or 1 large pepper (about 3 inches in diameter)

broccoliBroccoli: A generous fistful (tennis ball size) of florets or about 16 small florets

carrotsCarrots: 1 cup chopped or 2 medium whole carrots (6 to 7 inches long)

cauliflowerCauliflower: A little less than a 1/4 head of florets

celeryCelery: 1 cup diced or 2 stalks (11 to 12 inches long)

cornCorn: 1 cup of kernels or 1 large ear (8 to 9 inches long)

cucumberCucumber: 1 cup sliced/chopped or about 1/2 of a medium cucumber (8 to 9 inches long)

green beansGreen Beans: 1 cup cooked (we counted: It’s about 19 to 20 beans)

spinachGreens, Cooked (kale, chard, etc.): 1 cup

lettuceGreens, Raw (lettuce, spinach, etc.): 2 cups (about two large leaves of chopped romaine)

squashSummer Squash: 1 cup cooked/sliced/diced squash or 1 whole zucchini (7 to 8 inches long) or about 1/2 of a large yellow crookneck

sweet potatoSweet Potato: 1 cup mashed or 1 large baked potato (about 2 1/4 inches in diameter)

Fruit Servings That Equal a Cup (1 serving)

appleApple: 1 small apple (about 2 1/2 inches in diameter, a little smaller than a baseball)

bananaBanana: 1 large banana (8 to 9 inches long)

cantaloupeCantaloupe: 1 cup diced or about 1/8 of a large melon

dried fruitDried Fruit: 1/2 cup

grapefruitGrapefruit: 1 medium grapefruit (about 4 inches across)

grapesGrapes: About 32 average grapes

orangeOrange: 1 large orange (a little bigger than a baseball)

peachPeach: 1 large peach (about the size of a tennis ball)

pearPear: 1 medium pear

pineapplePineapple: 1 cup chopped (a little less than 1/4 of a pineapple)

plumPlum: 2 large plums

strawberriesStrawberries: 8 large berries

tomatoTomato: 1 cup chopped or 1 large tomato (about 3 inches in diameter, about the size of a baseball)

2 thoughts on “What’s On My Plate? And A Guide To Fruits/Veggies!

Leave a Reply

