No Sugar, No Grains!

Wow, just got back from a beautiful wedding and an amazing weekend in DC!!!  I was super lazy and didn’t take any pictures (I know, I’m an awesome blogger, huh?) so we’ll just fast forward to my dinner tonight….

No Sugar, No Grains, November

Last Thursday one of my favorite bloggers Jenna @ The Paleo Project wrote a post about how one day she’s eating clean and feeling great and then slowly she’s drifted back into a not-so-healthy diet of beer, cheese & crackers, pastries, etc.  She decided she was going to cut out all sugar and grains until Thanksgiving and asked if we wanted to join her.  Her plan is similar to the “Whole30” from Whole9Life and the “21 Day Sugar Detox” from Balanced Bites and it’s something I’ve considered doing for a while so without hesitation, I thought “yes, sign me up!”.  A couple minutes later, I was in a funk trying to figure out how I’d survive a weekend in DC if I’m focused on my meals so I figured why not start on Monday?  So here I am, on Day #1 of no sugar, no grains…..

Dinner

While I took an afternoon siesta, Mike prepared a delicious salad with mojito lime marinated grilled chicken, chopped celery, carrots, cucumbers, white kidney beans, and sunflower seeds.  We topped it balsamic vinaigrette dressing and drank numerous glasses of water with the meal.

I guess you can’t see all the toppings on my salad…  but there’s a lot hiding under the lettuce.

How’d I do today?  OK…..    I did eat a bagel for breakfast but that’s only because I forgot I was starting today 😦  Annnnd I had a couple pieces of chocolate after dinner.  But tomorrow will be a better, healthier, cleaner day of eating!  I’m going to stock up on fresh fruits, veggies, and all the necessary staples to keep me on track. 😀

Have you ever followed a clean eating diet?  If so, how was it?  Any advice?

Leave a comment