Run or rest before race day?

Did you guys know that Santa is already at the mall?!  Shouldn’t he hold off a little longer?  I loooooove Christmas and all but I also like celebrating one holiday at a time and right now it’s Thanksgiving time!  Right?

xxxxxxxxxx

OK, it’s 6:30am and I’m already up and at it.  I set my alarm for 6:20 so I could enjoy a light breakfast a couple of hours before my race.  I also enjoyed an iced coffee with a turbo shot (hellz yeahhhh!) that I bought yesterday and left it in the fridge for this morning.

And we have Christmas cups already?  Guess Christmas time is here.

Sometimes I wonder why I keep signing up for road races when I could be sleeping in my comfy, warm bed right now.  But I just have the race today and the one on Thanksgiving and then I hibernate til March. 😦  I’ll still run outside during the winter (since treadmills can be boring) but I start working winter track meets so there’s no time for racing or for much of a life.  But that’s fine.  It just means I have to push it today and maybe PR! 😀

In order to prepare for the race I forced myself over to the gym yesterday for a quick workout.  It could be all mental but I always feel better if I run a couple slow & easy miles the day before a race.  And I feel so much better when I can actually match my workout clothes to my water bottle. 

While at the gym, I hopped on the treadmill and zoned out for 30 minutes while reading about my girl, Snooks.  I know I’ve read this article before but there’s something about Snooki that I can’t get sick of.  Does anyone else feel this way?

Do you workout the day before a race? 

Do you think it helps or is it all mental?

Leave a Reply

