Running laps in the dark

I finally completed a track workout tonight.  I really, really, really didn’t want to head to the track but my race is on Thursday and I knew I needed to squeeze in a speed workout if I want to PR.  So after sitting in crazy traffic for an hour and a half, I quickly ran into my apartment and changed into running clothes before I could get too comfortable and change my mind (this trick usually works).

I jogged to the track and then raced 200 meters, jogged 200 meters, and repeated without stopping.  I believe I completed 3 miles at the track?  Not a super hard workout but I’m just happy I did it. 😀  My next track workout (when I have more energy) will consist of longer repeats, maybe even 800’s.  Bring it on!

After my run, I decided to get rid of the lactic acid in my legs by lying on the floor with my legs straight up against the wall for about 8 minutes.

Have you guys done this before??  If so, do you notice a difference in your legs the next day?  I love doing it but I just wish Rocky wouldn’t attack my head the entire time….  seriously, Rocky?!

Getting ready to pounce…..

Dinner

…… was delicious and so easy!  I sautéed frozen shrimp in a skillet with rosemary infused extra virgin olive oil (you have to buy this olive oil!  I believe we bought it at “When Pigs Fly” but I’m sure you can buy it anywhere).  Then I microwaved a box of frozen cheesy rice with broccoli and added fresh broccoli to the mix and combined it all together.  Did you get that? 

This was so good that I ate my dinner (above) and then ate the leftovers that I packed for lunch tomorrow.

Hope you had an awesome day and that you got your sweat on and ate something delicious today!

Question: If it’s dark out, do you still run outside or head to the gym?

2 thoughts on “Running laps in the dark

  1. Hey! Just found your blog 🙂

    Great job on getting the track workout in. Once It gets even slightly dark, I’m too terrified to run outside! haha

    I’ve actually never done the legs straight up thing, I’m gonna give it a try and see if I feel a difference.
    Have a lovely day! 🙂

    • YES I agree it can be terrifying running in the dark but thankfully other people were at the track last night. Hmmm I wonder if I should always stick with the well lit track at night time?

      Let me know if the leg trick works for ya! 😀

      Hope you have an amazing day too!

Leave a Reply

