Oh, the scale….

is NOT my friend today!

I don’t know if scheduling a doctor’s appointment right after the holidays was a good idea or not?  But I do know the scale doesn’t lie and it’s a fact; I gained some lbs 😦  I already knew that I had gained weight since I’ve been feeling tubby and bloated (and because I had to unbutton my jeans before dinner on NYE) but it’s just different when you see the number right in front of you on the scale.  And for some reason that number either makes or breaks my day…..  

I wanted to spend the day moping around and being all “poor me”, but instead I did something about it.  I hit up the gym! 

Workout

After work, I made my way over to the gym for a quick 3 mile interval workout on the ol’ dreadmill.   It’s a “speed work” day so I did 2 minutes of sprinting, 1 minute of jogging and repeated for 30 minutes.  I left looking like a sweaty mess…  Done and done. 😀

Dinner

I know that one way to feel less bloated and healthier, is to eat more veggies.  So I prepared an easy, veggie-filled, protein packed salad for Mike and myself.  In the salad: mixed greens, tomatoes, mushrooms, cucumbers, roasted brussel sprouts, and a home-made salmon burger on top.

Btw, have you guys ever prepared roasted brussel sprouts?  If not, you have to try making them!  They’re so friggen good (for realzy, I’m not being crazy… )!!

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Ingredients

  • 1 lb brussel sprouts, cut in half
  • about 2-3 tablespoons of EVOO (enough to lightly cover everything)
  • a couple squirts of lemon juice
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2) Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.

3) Transfer to a baking sheet and cook for about 25 minutes.  Stir after 15 minutes to prevent any burning.

Enjoy!

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

I’m still a little bummed about the number on the scale but I know I can lose the “winter weight” the good old fashion way: eating healthier foods, limiting my alcohol (I should say “no alcohol” but that’d never happen), drinking more water, and pushin’ it during my workouts.  And in the meantime, I’m going to stay mad at the scale and not get back on there ’til I fit comfortably in my jeans again.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Do you weigh yourself?  If so, how often?

What’d you have for dinner? 🙂

5 thoughts on “Oh, the scale….

  1. Too funny, I had almost the same dinner tonight since I did a lot of damage over the holidays too. I had a salad with mixed greens, pepper, onion, broccoli, chickpeas, a boiled egg and black bean veggie burger on top. Delicious, easy and healthy!

    I love the brussels sprouts recipe by the way, I am def going to make that next week 🙂

  2. Haven’t weighed myself in a year. Threw the scale out and it was the best thing I have ever done. I eat well, no carbs, no sugar, no processed foods and can tell if I am on track by the way my jeans slide on or have to be hijacked up.

    • Oh wow – you’re really good! 🙂

      I’m trying to cut back on sugar, carbs, and processed crap but I don’t think I could completely cut them out of my diet…. maybe some day!

  3. I don’t weigh myself unless i’m at the doctors or over my parents and find myself upstairs-which isn’t very often. I don’t own a scale and I actually prefer it that way! I agree with Jules above, I judge my weight by the way my clothes fit! I’m glad we can encourage each other to eat healthy healthy healthy! Last night I sauteed steak, asparagus, onion, and mushrooms… mmmm 🙂

Leave a Reply

