Peanut Butter Power Smoothie!

I planned on coming home from work and preparing a healthy dinner consisting of pan seared scallops, sautéed green beans and baked sweet potatoes.  I even stopped at the grocery store on my way home to pick up the ingredients.  But that dinner never happened.  Mike’s at a company party and I’m exhausted so instead I prepared one of my favorite “go to” lazy dinners: wine with cheese and crackers. 😀  I even spiced it up by using rosemary and olive oil triscuits and I added a sliced apple to the mix.  I really think I could live off this meal (but I’d substitute the lame cheese sticks for a better cheese like sharp cheddar, havarti dill, pepper jack, basically anything else… )

I ate my dinner while catching up with Dr. Oz.  Love his show but I really can’t keep up with everything he’s telling us to eat/don’t eat/buy this/not that/take this vitamin/but not with that vitamin/only at this time of the day…..  Do you watch his show?  Can you keep up with what we should and shouldn’t do??

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Okay, let’s rewind to this morning…. 

I know I just said I could live off of wine, cheese, and crackers but I also couldn’t live without peanut butter.  Love, love, love this stuff.  While at my boxing class this morning I was thinking about what I was going to make for breakfast.  I was hot and sweaty so I knew I wanted cold and something that involved peanut butter so as soon as I got home I quickly whipped up a smoothie.  You might think smoothie’s are only for warmer days but they really are soooo good year round.  Not only is this smoothie awesome but it’s also loaded with protein, potassium, “good” fats, fiber, and only takes 2 minutes to make.  Sweeeeeeet!

Peanut Butter Power Smoothie

In the mix:

  • 1 cup almond milk (or any milk)
  • 1 frozen, medium banana
  • 2 tablespoons natural peanut butter (or any nut butter)
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax-seed
  • 1 tablespoon honey

Combine all ingredients and blend until smooth.  You can also add ice cubes for a thicker consistency.  Enjoy!

Alright, time for TV and bed.  Let’s see if I can stay up til 9 to watch Grey’s Anatomy.  I’m guessing it won’t happen but a girl can dream…….

Leave a Reply

