Healthy{ish} Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

So I did it; I came up with a healthier version of my beloved peanut butter cookie.  I attempted to make theses cookies the other night but they came up tasting and feeling like rocks.  Gross.  So I tweaked a couple of items and now I have a “go to” healthy afternoon snack.  Don’t get me wrong, these aren’t as delicious as a real peanut butter cookie but they are filling, sweet, and they hit the spot! 

So how are they healthy{ish}? 

Peanut butter = protein, protein, protein

Chia seeds = a powerful superfood!  They’re high in omega-3 acids, high in antioxidants, packed with vitamins, and are super filling

Old-fashioned oats = contain fiber, vitamins, and help lower cholesterol

Banana = full of fiber, potassium, B6, and a bunch of other things I’m forgetting…

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 Tbsp ground chia seeds
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 banana, mashed (add 1 additional egg if you don’t have a banana)
  • 1 egg, 1 egg white
  • 3 Tbsp butter, softened (I used “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter, Light“)
  • 1 cup natural creamy peanut butter or any nut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Optional: dark chocolate chips….   I’ll probably add these to my next batch. 😀

Directions

1) Preheat the oven to 350.  Lightly spray baking sheet with oil or cover with parchment paper.

2) In a medium bowl, mix the oats, flour, baking soda and chia seeds.  Set aside.

3) In a large bowl, combine the light brown sugar, banana, eggs, butter, peanut butter, and vanilla extract.  Beat with an electric mixer at a low-speed until light and creamy.  Add oat mixture; beat until blended.

4) Shape dough into rounded tablespoon balls and place on baking sheet 2 inches apart.  Lightly flattened each ball with a fork.

6) Bake 10-12 minutes or until light golden brown.  Let cool and enjoy!

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Do you ever substitute a banana instead of an egg while baking? 

I think it actually tastes much better with a lil’ banana flavor….  😀

Do you have any healthy substitutes?

Leave a Reply

