Is this paleo?

I was finally able to complete a long run this afternoon!  It’s been over 2 weeks since my last 10 miler so this run was much-needed.  My plan was to run around 12 miles but I ended up stopping at 11 1/2 since my knees and hip were killing me.  It was hard (mentally) stopping before the 12 mile mark but I know from experience running through the pain is not worth it!  My knees didn’t start hurting until mile 10 so thankfully most of my run felt awesoooome. 🙂

Dinner

Let’s talk about last night’s dinner since it was a good & flavorful one. On the menu: paleo coconut crusted cod, roasted brussel sprouts & baked sweet potatoes. 

To prepare the paleo Coconut Crusted Cod, simply:

  • Pour some coconut milk in a bowl.
  • In another bowl, combine unsweetened coconut flakes with some coconut flour (I bought baking coconut flakes by mistake so please ignore the picture below… )
  • Dip the cod fillets in the coconut milk bowl and then into the bowl with coconut flakes and flour.
  • Heat 2-3 tablespoons of coconut oil in a skillet over medium heat and add the cod to the warm pan. Pan fry for about 5 minutes on each side or until the fish is golden brown. Enjoy!

The fish doesn’t look so tasty in this iPhone pic’ but trust me, the hints of coconut made it sooo friggen delicious!  

Btw, this meal would probably taste even better if you use tilapia since thinner fish are easier to pan fry. Usually you want the fish to be about 1 inch thick or else it breaks apart such as my dinner above…

Is this meal really paleo?

It took a while for me to figure out which foods are paleo and which are not. Since I’ve been eating a paleo{ish} diet (off and on) for over a year now, I’m finally able to pick out foods at the grocery store without having to double-check everything online. Obviously wild caught fish is paleo and the brussel sprouts are paleo but what about sweet potatoes? Sweet potatoes are one of the foods that we all know are healthy but we question whether they’re paleo or not. Well folks, they are paleo.  Boo yah!  I wanna point out that white potatoes are not paleo but really who eats white potatoes anymore?

Here’s a great cheat sheet in case you’re interested in the paleo lifestyle:

2 thoughts on “Is this paleo?

  1. I have been Paleo almost a year and LOVE it. I agree it took a while to figure out what I could and should not eat. I love Sweet Potatoes and they are a stable in our house. Love this chart, I have not seen this one yet. Going to steal it! Your meal looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

