Let’s talk smoothies.

My plan was to take a couple of days off from blogging (I’ve been too lazy to type… ) and then come back with an awesome half marathon recap today but since my half marathon was CANCELLED that recap isn’t gonna happen.  Yup, because of yet another snow storm on Friday they cancelled the half marathon for today.  It sucks.

But on a happier note, I’ve been making a lot of delicious smoothie’s lately.  Smoothie’s are the best way to squeeze tons of fruits and veggies into your diet!  I notice that when I start my day off with a healthy smoothie it motivates me to continue eating healthy through out the day.

This first smoothie I prepared yesterday morning when I got home from the gym.  It turned out tasting fantastic and it kept me full for hours!!  For real, like 4+ hours which never happens for me.

Chocolate Cherry Protein Smoothie

  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • handful of spinach
  • 1 cup cherries (I used frozen cherries and quickly defrosted them)
  • 3 ice cubes

_ _ _ _ _ _

The next smoothie is from the Dr. Oz website.  Last week he had an episode discussing his 3-day detox cleanse so I went on his website and followed the directions for the Breakfast Juice.  It took only minutes to prepare and it was so good! 

Dr. Oz’s Breakfast Drink

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax seeds
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup spinach
  • 1 tablespoon almond butter
  • 1 teaspoon lemon

_ _ _ _ _ _

And in spirit of St. Patty’s Day next Sunday, I thought I’d share a fun & healthy green drink from Shape.com.  Their version of McDonalds Shamrock Shake has only 180 calories, 5 grams fat, 8 grams carbohydrates, and a whopping 30 grams protein!

Protein Shamrock Shake (from Shape.com)

  • 1/2c. low-fat cottage cheese (or vanilla yogurt)
  • 
1 scoop vanilla or plain protein powder
  • 
1/8 tsp. mint extract (or to taste)
  • 
2-3 packets stevia or sweetener of choice (or to taste)
  • 
5-10 ice cubes (more or less depending on how thick you like it)
  • 
4-6 oz. water (alter according to desired thickness)
  • 
A few drops of green food coloring, or a handful of spinach to make it green
  • 
1-2 tbsp. Sugar-Free Instant Pistachio Pudding Mix (optional)
  • Pinch of guar of xanthan gum (optional)

I’m definitely making this smoothie once I stock up on groceries!

Alright, time to take off and do some furniture shopping…….  Enjoy your Sunday, everyone!

One thought on “Let’s talk smoothies.

Leave a Reply

