Hill Repeats & Mexican Shrimp Salad.

Oh hello! Long time no talk, right?! I lost my blogging motivation for a couple of weeks but I’m backkkk!

I have a half marathon on Sunday and I’m really not ready for it. And I’m not just saying that to be modest. I’m like really not ready to run a half marathon right now. Just like how I took a break from blogging, I also let working-out and running take a back seat while I focused on moving into our new house. So yeah, this race has crept up on me and I now have 3 days to prep myself.

Yesterday afternoon I went out for an easy 20 minute run around my neighborhood….

and then did a bunch of hill repeats to complete my workout. This involved “sprinting” up a long, steady hill as fast as I could go, jogging down the hill and then resting for 1-2 minutes in between each set. And repeat.

Let me tell ya, I was dying! Hills kick my ass every single time!

Dinner

In preparation for Cinco De Mayo I decided to prepare a healthy Mexican salad for dinner last night. I picked a couple of ingredients at Trader Joe’s and got to work. I combined the following ingredients in a bowl and used the greek yogurt guacamole as the dressing. It turned out tasting awesome!!  

Btw wouldn’t that be nice if we celebrated this holiday with a week long festivities??  A week full of corona lights, margarita’s, tortilla chips and guacamole! 🙂

Healthy, Easy Mexican Shrimp Salad!

Ingredients:

  • romaine lettuce
  • canned corn
  • canned black beans
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • Mexican blend shredded cheese
  • cooked, marinated shrimp (I used the frozen Thai Lime Shrimp Skewers from Trader Joe’s)
  • guacamole (I used the Trader Joe’s greek yogurt guac – so friggen good! This definitely stole the show.)

_ _ _ _ _

Before I sign off, I have to show you a pic’ of Rocky from yesterday because a) he begged me and b) it reinforces my belief that I really want to come back as a cat in my next life. Sleep, eat, sleep sounds pretty good to me.

_ _ _ _ _

Anyone else racing this weekend? Or training for a race?

What’d you have for dinner last night?

 

2 thoughts on “Hill Repeats & Mexican Shrimp Salad.

  1. Yay, glad you’re back!! And you will do great Sunday! Your goals may have changed but I’m sure you will still kick butt! Jealous of your yummy salad, I had Caesar salad and. French onion soup hold the cheese 🙂

Leave a Reply

