Superfoods for Endurance

Today’s workout was a quick and easy 2.5 mile run.  I usually take the day off following a long run but since I have a 5K race tomorrow I wanted to get my legs moving and stretch them out.  After my lil’ run I came home to ice and stretch.  Fun, fun.

Breakfast

I switched it up today and went with strawberry banana Chobani yogurt with Kashi’s GoLean cereal.  Not quit as delicious as my beloved GoLean Crunch but I’ll take what I can get.  Have you guys ever tried GoLean Crunch?  It’s amazing. 

The regular GoLean is also pretty delicious and has some killer nutritional facts.  For only 140 calories per serving you get 13g of protein and 10g of fiber!!  Woooo Nelly, that’s a lot of fiber! 😉 

I also had water and a home-made ice coffee….. 

6 Superfoods to Boost Your Endurance

Let’s chat about another love of mine, Active.com.  I subscribe to their emails and always enjoy reading them.  Most emails I receive from other sites go straight to the trash but not from Active.com.  This is my “go to” site for health and running information  Their latest email had an article about superfoods for endurance that caught my attention.  I’m always curious to know which foods I’m eating are “superfoods” and which ones I should be eating. 

So here’s the list of top foods for endurance (byAllie Gray Freeland):

1) Quinoa: 

“Quinoa’s benefits to endurance athletes have been known for centuries. In fact, the Incas used it to increase the stamina of their warriors, which helped them to run long distances at high altitudes. This superfood is also a source of manganese, magnesium, iron, zinc, potassium and calcium.”

2) Kale:

“This leafy green is brimming with nutrients that are vital for athletic performance. Vitamins like magnesium, vitamin C, calcium, folate, zinc and iron can all be found in kale. Integrating kale into your everyday diet is easy and very beneficial to boost performance.”

3) Bananas

“It’s probably not surprising to see bananas on the list, as you see them before and after almost every long-distance race. Bananas are the perfect food to consume 30 minutes before an endurance race because they are packed with complex carbs and potassium, which minimizes cramping and helps the cardiovascular systemfunction. If you need a quick fix to boost your energy before a long run, bike ride, or swim, eating a banana should be a no-brainer.”

4) Chia Seeds

“Chia is one of nature’s highest plant-based sources of complete protein. Usually protein things like peanut butter and beans are incomplete, meaning you have to combine them with other foods to get the full nutritional benefit. Chia’s protein is fully complete and works to raise your energy levels upon consumption.”

5) Lean Beef

“Learn from Popeye’s example—iron is key to a healthy body. Though he noshed on spinach to obtain iron, lean beef can have the similar effect on strength and endurance. Iron is a crucial nutrient for endurance athletes because a deficiency leads to fatigue. Additionally, lean beef is a great protein source. Elk, bison and less-fat beef are low-fat and high-iron types of protein.”

6) Sports Drinks

“Though sports drinks get a bad wrap sometimes, they actually can really benefit your overall stamina and energy levels during long periods of exercise. Sports drinks can rehydrate runners while delivering carbohydrates and electrolytes. Look for sports drinks with 4 to 6 percent carbs/electrolytes. Any more than that will leave you sluggish and full of too many sugars.”

Did this list surprise you guys?  Do you eat these superfoods??  I eat quinoa, bananas (love), lean beef, and just started eating chia seeds.  I don’t eat kale that often but not because I don’t like it; I just never think of buying it.  And I’m not a big sports drink kinda gal but I guess I’ll have to incorporate these items into my diet more often.

5 thoughts on “Superfoods for Endurance

  1. I just bought Kale at the farmer’s market today because I wanted to try something new! This was great to hear today! I’m doing my first 5k next week and will definitely implement these! Thank you!

Leave a comment